Path to educational technology…

Petri's blog on education and technology

Technology Versus Learning

Leave a comment

Today’s Iltasanomat had an interesting article about technology visions EU (Golden Workers project) and Finnish VTT have. A couple of ideas mentioned were: human controlled artificial limb by thought, modification of human senses like smell or hearing to the level beyond normal, accurate identification of human feelings and new user interfaces that combine human brain and computer. These ideas might sound abstract or unbelievable now, but they are coming in one form or another. Exciting? Frightening? Boring?

Exciting, I think! However, often when I read about education related technological achievements it’s not so easy to say whether they really enhance learning or not. For example www based (free) dictionaries are great help for me, but it seems that to really remember and use properly new English words I have to study them in a way in which I really don’t need computer and technology: I just have to “excercise” my brain.

Does future technology change our learning somehow? Hmm… somehow I think this question has been raised thousands of times before 🙂 Well, only think about possibility that technology changes our senses (e.g. we can smell and hear better than now). Maybe that might bring something new to learning, don’t you think?

Leave a comment